Ukraine Russia News Countries that have sanctions against Russia

As Russian President Putin and Russian army advance towards Ukraine cities and capital Kyiev, several NATO and World leaders have condemned the attack. Here are a list of Countries that have sanctioned Russia against invasion of Ukraine.

  1. USA; President Biden Joe Biden US President Joe Biden on Thursday unveiled harsh new measures against Russia, saying: “Putin chose this war.” The new sanctions include export blocks on technology, a centerpiece of Biden’s approach that he said would severely limit Russia’s ability to advance its military and aerospace sector. Biden said “this includes Russia-wide restrictions on semiconductors, telecommunication, encryption security, lasers, sensors, navigation, avionics and maritime technologies.” Biden also announced sanctions on Russian banks, and whom it described as “corrupt billionaires” and their families who are close to the Kremlin. He said it would cut off 13 major state-owned companies from raising money in the United States, including energy giant Gazprom and Sberbank, Russia’s largest financial institution. President Biden also vowed to sanction two dozen Belarusian individuals and companies, which include “two significant Belarusian state-owned banks, nine defense firms, and seven regime-connected official and elites. Today the US Biden led administration has also announced it will be cutting Russian banks off its Dollar supply.

2. United Kingdom: Prime Minister Boris said in a statement “The United Kingdom will ban Russia’s national carrier, Aeroflot, and apply sanctions to Belarus “for its role in the assault on Ukraine,” Also the United Kingdom was the very first country to ban Russia from flying over its Air Space during Ukraine invasion. The UK have also announced it has frozen some Russian banks in United Kingdom and will not is further restricting lots of Russia owned ship.

Moreover, the United KIngdom and the European Union countries have expelled Russian banks from an international money transfer Swift.

3. European Union countries: Majority of the European Union leaders have banned Russia from flying over its air space and Russia in turn have retaliated by banning all the EU countries over Russian Air Space. European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen and French president Emmanuel Macron announced new sanctions to inflict “maximum impact on the Russian economy and political elite.” “We will hold the Kremlin accountable,” said von der Leyen. The sanctions are will hit Russia’s financial, energy and transport sectors, and include export controls and trade financing bans. Von der Leyen said they target 70% of the Russian banking sector and key state-owned companies, and sought to make “it impossible for Russia to upgrade its oil refineries.” He also said “We are also targeting Russian elites by curbing their deposits so that they cannot hide their money anymore in safe havens in Europe,”.

4. South Korea have condemned the Russian invasion

5. Singapore have also condemned the Russian invasion on Ukraine

6. China also today condemned the Russia invasion of Ukraine

7. Japan Also have condemned Russia invasion on Ukraine

8. Canada closure of air Space to Russia. Russia has retaliated this measure

9. Australia also Condemned Russia invasion on Ukraine

10. New Zealand is prohibiting the export of goods to the Russian military and security forces in response to the invasion of Ukraine

12. Taiwan President announced that it would join the economic sanctions against Russia, though they didn’t specify which measures were being considered.

13. FIFA world sports governing body was not left out. Fifa have banned Russian flags and Anthems on all international sports and also banned Russian athletes from international sports till further notice.

Leave a Reply